THE TAPE CONSTANTLY AROUND MY NECK.

10th June 2016.

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

THE TAPE CONSTANTLY AROUND MY NECK.

Ensuring that you are taking the accurate measurements is your topmost priority when you are dressmaking or sewing in general. It is of utmost importance to take accurate measurements to make sure your clothes fit as they should.

When I initially started my sewing journey, I was really angry at the baby steps! I just wanted us to jump to the point when I start making dresses, trousers and crazy styles from my ever-racing imagination! The thing is, these baby steps accumulate to be giant strides. The “baby-step” we are taking now are basic body measurements.

arm2

I watched my tutor take her client’s measurements with just too much keen interest like so all these numbers actually end up making those amazing dresses? I wanted to know exactly where the tape should be for each part of the body and this curiosity made me learn how to take my own measurement by constantly practicing on myself, thereafter understanding my body shape I then went on to practicing on other body types because it gets really confusing and different on different body types.

I know you would be like “aunty my tailor get am jor! / when I reach the tailor side we go take am/how can I take my own measurement?” I got you! Some people don’t think that you should take your own body measurements and that is totally understandable. It is unknowingly possible and easy to distort your body and your measurements can be compromised; my trick is that I always stand in front of a mirror, in doing so I get very conscious about distorting my body so much as I measure.

When taking measurements on yourself or another person remember you need to breathe! So the tape should be snug, but not tight, definitely not clinch or digging into the body but not loose either. Just wrap the tape around the area of the body being measured and hold it in place. You should be able to fit a couple of fingers behind the tape, but not more than that.

OFUREE’S BASIC MEASURING TIPS:

 BUST: Measure the bust at the fullest part. Place the tape just around the body (total circumference) and just in line of your nipples. (exactly yes).

bust

UNDER-BUST/CHEST, FRONT UNDER-BUST LENGTH:  Measure directly under your breasts and do this as high up as possible. Place tape just around under your breast and then from the shoulder through the bust apex to directly under the breast.

ubaroundubhl

WAIST: measure at its narrowest point width-wise, usually just an inch above the navel. Place tape around an inch above the navel and be sure that is exactly where the body bends. It actually helps if you bend side to side to identify exactly where to measure.

waist

 

SHOULDER/BACK WIDTH: Measure from the end of one shoulder across to the end of the other. You would feel the ends of the shoulder bone, then you are doing it right.

shoulder

HALF LENGTH/FRONT WAIST LENGTH: Measure from the shoulder through the apex of the bust, to the waistline which is an inch above the naval.

hl2

HIPS: Measure around the widest part of your hipbones. I like to wiggle around a bit when my tape is placed here to ensure that the tape gets to be free and basically to get the accurate hip measurement.

hipsidehipbackhip front

THIGHS: Measure around the fullest part of your upper leg while standing straight.

leg

UPPER ARM/ARM LENGTH: Measure above your elbow and exactly at the fullest part and for length measure from the top of the shoulder/top of arm to the length you so desire for the length of the sleeve you want.

armarml

  1. Now for some extra, ideally you should be measuring your body wearing only your undergarments, wear only the underwear that will be worn with the finished item. If you will be wearing a girdle, spanx, waist trainer, push up bra etc. with the finished outfit just wear it to take your measurements because these actually affect and alter your measurements.
  2. However, a close-fitting clothing would also work just fine and do not take your measurements wearing bulky clothes like jeans or sweats, it actually makes also of difference.

I am a bit of an old-fashioned woman sometimes (mentally of course!) and I believe that women should know their measurements, just because. At least memorize your bust, waist and hip measurement.

I hope this is really helpful to you! Thanks so much for reading and please don’t forget to like, subscribe, share, like some more and of course leave your comments, I want to hear from you.

PurplebyOfuree.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Fola Animashaun says:

    Really good insights , 😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucky says:

    It’s amazing how you make this look so easy, I might get tangled if I try this on myself or even on someone else

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cleo says:

    Good one girl…beautiful step by step procedures

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Liz says:

    This is amazing….. Any novice can improve from here…. To add spice to this, I think you should illustrate how to take measurements for different categories of clothes…… Like trousers, skirts, tops etc….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Christian Andrew says:

    This is lovely and syncronize with the saying that a tiny drop makes a mighty ocean….the step by step is the key thing in the world of fashion

    Weldone girl

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

